Scroll To Top
Non-topics

Save Cash by Waiting to Ride with New Uber Feature

UBER pride

New feature is only for employees now, but it's on its way. 

We’ve all arrived at the airport and found that a ride home using popular ride-sharing app Uber is way more money than expected. Gone are the days of when Uber would notify its users that a price surge was in effect (that notification ended two years ago). While no one except Uber insiders know exactly how the company’s controversial fare-adjusting algorithm works, the app may soon allow you to check whether it’s worth it to wait a few minutes or not.

Yesterday, an employee over at Uber accidentally leaked a pic of the new feature, which was subsequently deleted, that showed that if the user waited for 5 minutes he would save $2. 

So far the feature is only those working for the company in San Francisco and Los Angeles, according to Quartz who received confirmation from Uber. “Affordability is a top reason riders choose shared rides, and we’re internally experimenting with a way to save money in exchange for a later pickup." 

Out Magazine Print SubscriptionAdvocate Print Subscription

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories