Scroll To Top

RuPaul wins 8th consecutive Emmy Award for Outstanding Reality TV Host

RuPaul Makes History Again: Wins 8th Consecutive Emmy Award for Outstanding Reality TV Host

RuPaul at the 75th Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards
Images: Getty Images; MTV

The RuPaul’s Drag Race host is extending his Emmys record even further.

Another herstory-making moment!

On Sunday, Jan. 7, RuPaul won the Primetime Emmy Award for Outstanding Host for a Reality or Competition Program for the eighth consecutive time for his hosting duties on RuPaul’s Drag Race, extending his record in this category even further.

Ru won this Emmy Award for the first time in 2016. Since then, he’s been snatching this trophy every single year. Behind RuPaul is Survivor’s Jeff Probst, who won this Emmy category four consecutive times. RuPaul has now doubled Probst’s total.

RuPaul accepted the award in person while attending the 75th Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards at the Peacock Theater in Los Angeles.

All the events surrounding the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards were originally scheduled for September 2023. However, due to the Writers Guild of America (WGA) and Screen Actors Guild (SAG) strike of 2023, these Emmy ceremonies were postponed to January 2024.

On Monday, Jan. 15, Fox will air the 75th Primetime Emmy Awards, where RuPaul’s Drag Race is once again the frontrunner to win an award for Outstanding Reality Competition Program. The series has won that category four consecutive times, but lost to Lizzo’s Watch Out for the Big Grrrlsin 2022. This year, Drag Race is expected to reclaim its winning spot.

Condragulations are in order to Mama Ru for snatching trophies and extending this gag-worthy record!

RuPaul’s Drag Race season 16 airs every Friday on MTV.

30 Years of Out100Out / Advocate Magazine - Jonathan Groff and Wayne Brady

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Bernardo Sim